Review of Kelly Blanchard’s “I Still Have A Soul (Chronicles of Lorrek Book 2)”

Review of Kelly Blanchard’s “I Still Have A Soul (Chronicles of Lorrek Book 2)”

 

I recently had the joy and the pleasure as well as the honor of reading and reviewing Kelly Blanchard’s latest book in her Chronicles of Lorrek Series. Let me just say that if you have not read her first book, Someday I’ll Be Redeemed, it is a must read. Kelly is such an artist with words that one finds themselves falling into her universe and never wanting to come back.

 

ishas

In this second book in the Chronicles of Lorrek (I Still Have A Soul) I found myself being pulled along as if in a riptide of constant action. From the first page to the very last I was drawn into a world of constant action, adventure, fantasy, sci-fi, and political intrigue all wrapped in a beautiful package of ridiculously articulate and well written words on a page. While this is not something I would normally read, I have my genres that I tend to stick to, I was fascinated by the first book in the series and simply couldn’t stop myself from diving head first into the next one.  While new characters were introduced the base characters were still very much in the forefront of every major scene. Kingdoms that had been mentioned in passing in the first book were further explored in this book. So many scenes of sheer action, where I as the reader, was dragged under and refused to surface for air until things slowed down, hit me at every turn. I flew through this book and had to go back and read it a second time just to catch little nuances that made the journey even better than the first time. I know that when the next book is released I will be absorbed into the universe Ms. Blanchard has created yet again, and I will do so with a smile of glee. Such a great read. I can’t wait for more. May the journey of our hero continue with as much intrigue and glorious story telling as the last two pieces…

~J.R. O’Bryant

 

Leave a Reply

