30 Day Writing Challenge Day 17 (A Quote You Live By)

30 Day Writing Challenge Day 17 (A Quote You Live By)

(So of course I’m now two days late on this post. I was supposed to do it Monday night, but I had a very rough day and simply ran out of spoons (and back up spoons too). Tonight, Tuesday night/Wednesday “morning”, my computer decided once again that it wasn’t going to work they way mankind intended. I just got done with one of my favorite Midnight Tech Support team memebers, AKA my younger brother, and we finally have all the current issues resolved. So, it may be a bit late but here is Monday night’s post.)

A quote that I live my life by. Well to be honest I don’t have one. I knew this subject was coming up. I wracked my brains for a couple of days trying to come up with the answer. The bottom line is this; There are quotes that I cherish and love, and greatly appreciate, and even whole heartedly agree with. But there isn’t one that I use as a moral compass. I’m a sociopath. I have my own code of conduct and ethics that allows me to function in everyday society. And really, I’m okay with that. But given the choice of a quote to live by, I almost refuse to choose one or any.

I will give you two quotes that hold meaning for me in some way. And I will hope that that satisfies your curiosity on the subject.

“Life is an adventure or nothing at all.” ~ Helen Keller

I agree with Helen on this point. Life really is an adventure. Whether you are sitting on your backside twiddling your thumbs or out sky diving if you are not enjoying life to the fullest in that moment you are doing something wrong. If your life is not a great adventure, a journey, a quest for some thing…Then why bother existing. It doesn’t have to be sky diving, rock climbing, and deep sea diving to be an adventure. The little things in life are great adventures too. Sitting outside on a clear night and star gazing is a great adventure, alone or with company. Watching a storm roll in over the plains from the top of the mountain above is a great adventure, lesson, journey, and quest all in one. On the same note, some days, just getting out of bed, getting dressed, and doing the best you can for you and yours is really the greatest journey for us in that moment. But if you are not enjoying life and the adventure that you are on… change your course, choose a new path, ride a new river or dive a new ocean. Make the change that allows the adventure to continue and be more worthwhile. Simply put, if it is not an adventure… it is nothing worth while.

“Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass. It is about learning to dance in the rain.”~ Vivian Greene

This one holds true for me in some very literal ways. In the spring and summer, and even in the fall if it’s warm enough, when there is a good storm pouring in on us, my daughter and I go out and dance in the pouring rain! We love it. We dance and splash and goof off. It feels good, wild, free, peaceful, and goofy all at the same time.

But in other ways it holds true for me as well. If we wallow in the here and now and we refuse to look forward to the things that we will be coming into then we are forced to constantly live in the past. I one sits idly by and does nothing whilst chaos rains havoc all around them, with the mind set that once the dust settles, they will be able to on… You are blinded by foolishness and lack of motivation. But, if you can see the chaos and the havoc and you stand up and say, ” Not today… I want to ensure that there will be a tomorrow and it will be a better tomorrow.” Then you have learned to dance in the rain and mock the gods who dare rain down on your existence.

This also holds true for when we are struggling from one minute to the next, from one simple step to another. We feel like Atlas as we hold the weight of the world on our shoulders, or Sisyphus spending an eternity pushing a boulder up the mountain only to have it slide back down on us time and again. We must not wait for the storm of our own hell to pass, we must learn to dance in the rain when and where we can and acknowledge that no storm lasts forever. I know it is not easy and I know it sucks. I struggle with it too. But Just know that your storm will pass too, and in the mean time dance when you can and show the universe that you will not break no matter what is given to you.

 

I hope I answered your curiosity my dear readers… It is late and I still have much to do. What words do you choose to live by?

PS Thank you Isa for the Tech Support and suggestions

 

 

Leave a Reply

