30 Day Writing Challenge Day 12 (2 Words/Phrases That Make You Laugh)

30 Day Writing Challenge Day 12 (2 Words/Phrases That Make You Laugh)

(WARNING PROLIFIC USE OF EXPLICIT LANGUAGE!!!!)

*Evil Grins* Two words or phrases that amuse me. Okay then. I was thinking of giving you one of each, but alas I thought of two words that I really enjoy. One amused the hell out of me, and the other, well I use it quite often.

One of the most amusing words I have come across is Flibbertigibbet. It basically means a silly flighty person. Also an overly talkative person. I came across it in a children’s book when I was in high school and it simply amused the hell out of me. I’ve wanted to use it in a conversation but have never had the right moment to do so. It’s one of those words, that when used, everyone looks askance at you and then of course you have to go into professor mode and explain. Thank you Shakespeare for yet another wonderfully unique expression. It’s a pity this one did not catch on.

Flibbertigibbet is one of many incarnations of the Middle English word flepergebet, meaning “gossip” or “chatterer.” (Others include “flybbergybe,” “flibber de’ Jibb,” and “flipperty-gibbet.”) It is a word of onomatopoeic origin, created from sounds that were intended to represent meaningless chatter. Shakespeare apparently saw a devilish aspect to a gossipy chatterer; he used “flibbertigibbet” in King Lear as the name of a devil. This use never caught on, but the devilish connotation of the word reappeared over 200 years later when Sir Walter Scott used “Flibbertigibbet” as the nickname of an impish urchin in the novel Kenilworth. The impish meaning derived from Scott’s character was short-lived and was laid to rest by the 19th-century’s end, leaving us with only the “silly flighty person” meaning.” ~ Merriam-Webster Dictionary.

My other word of the night is one of my favorites for so many reasons. Not only does it amuses me, but I love the sound of it as it flies off of one’s tongue. I love the word, “FUCK”. It is so utterly versatile. You can use for any means of expression. You can tell anyone how you feel about anything with the use of this wonderful word. FUCK is the most graceful word ever to be spoken. When added to any sentence it allows the speaker to express themselves in a definitive and perfect way. Rarely when using this glorious word is one’s message not received. Whether you are telling someone to go away as in. “Fuck Off!” Or you are expressing joy as in, “Fuck Yes!” Or even one’s truest feelings, “I Fucking Love You!” You can almost never go wrong when using this beautiful word.

“In its various incarnations, the F-word can be a noun, verb, adjective, and even an infix. The Crescent wrench of the English language, the F-bomb has been adding emphasis, vulgarity and spice to our conversations for longer than anyone can remember.” ~ Where the F-Word Came From

And just because I want to prove that it can be used in proper English, here is a Youtube.com video about the versatility of the word FUCK. Enjoy!

What words or phrases make you grin or giggle? I’d love to know. And now my dear reader I pray you have a fantabulous and fucking glorious evening!

Leave a Reply

